5 things I learned about rushing life

The year of Master’s studies in Barcelona is coming to an end for One Inspired Girl… Will the life in Barcelona come to an end too? 

The struggle of an impatient mind

Where am I going to work? Which country am I going to live in? Am I going home for Christmas? These questions have been searching for answers on my mind on a daily basis and, together with our Final Thesis, been stealing most of my brain capacity. While I was able to find a conclusion to our marketing plan, in life matters, I haven’t reached that chapter yet.  

Have you ever found yourself in a life situation where you just want to speed up things so you can get to the conclusion? 

I want to know already what will happen, but I’ve had to change my strategy of controlling. I’ve had to accept that no matter how hard I try, I can’t decide on things that are not in my hands. I’ve needed to tell my inpatient nature to calm down and take one day at a time. After doing this, I found the importance of the time of finding the answers. 

Why shouldn’t we rush to the conclusion in our life?

  1. The lessons you learn during your journey are the ones that make you grow. You miss them, if you’re too focused on the results. Maybe something hasn’t happened yet, because we’re not yet ready for it, but we need to learn things first. That happens gradually, not in one night. So, give it time.
  2. You get stuck on your plan and you’re unable to see the other paths life is trying to show you. You start believing there is only one solution. Actually, there is no such thing as a perfect result, or a perfect life! Or if there is, there are many ways to get to the same point. Being open-minded is the key of finding unexpected but lucky coincidences what life, in the end, consists of!
  3. The people you meet on the way are the ones that become the most important people in your life. Don’t miss out on them by being too goal-oriented and effective. In the end, one day when you do get to the place you wanted, who do you share the joy with? The people who were there on your journey.

    img_1414-1
    One of our several international dinner nights with my friends from all over the world. This time it was Peruvian food!
  4. Postponing decision-making out of fear of wrong choices is not the same as giving it time, and you know it. Sometimes we’re too afraid of taking a wrong step, that we get stuck and don’t move anywhere. You will need to take a step to right  or left, but you can’t keep staying still and reach new things at the same time.  You will need to move somewhere. Surely one of the biggest reasons to this stems from not trusting, that life will carry us to the right place in the end. What you can influence, do, but what you can’t, let go of it.fear-of-failure
  5. The journey is built on the experiences and the learnings, that takes time so it’s not efficient, but     definitely brings added value. If you’re not present during your journey, but too fixated in your goals, you might  miss experiencing them.
  6. Question the point you “need to get to”.  People have a need to define everything: life, feelings, relationships, personal growth.. They are not to be defined, but appreciated as they are. So question what you are actually rush to, is it realistic?

 Let it flow!

The life is what it is, and we can’t put a label on it. Neither will it never be secured. We need to accept the uncertainty and complexity of life and let it flow in all the incompleteness that it is. Life is built of the learnings, unexpected turns, experiences, people and the change in YOU. It’s the blessing of not getting what you want and especially not getting it too fast, that you realize the actual worth of life itself.

The only conclusion I’ve come to so far is that this is the best time I could be living! The uncertainty, as frightening as it is, is at the same time so exciting! I can’t control everything, but I can choose my attitude. The conclusion to my stay in Barcelona will yet be left unwritten, but the direction I’m going to is Inspiring! 🙂

images

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Myles Butler says:

    Those are some great insights! As someone who’s also living in Spain but anxious about what the future holds, this post is a nice reminder to relax and fully enjoy the experience.

    Like

    1. Cool, you’re going through the same things. Yes it’s so stressing sometimes to not know, but we can only do the things we can have an effect on and after that, well, someone else will take care of the rest. Enjoy Spain!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

